A recent mommy blog post on post natal depression prompted my own reflections:

I remember clearly the anxiety of embracing my new role as mother. The inability to implement nap / sleep schedules left me exhausted and frustrated (#downwithGinaFord!) The searing pain of breastfeeding coupled with fears of low milk supply ๐Ÿผ plagued me. The seeming endless routine of feeding, diaper-changing, and housework, was mind-numbing. I would sit alone in the dark, Ryan ๐Ÿ‘ถ๐Ÿป snuggled on my lap, waiting for Paul to come home from work ๐Ÿ‘”๐Ÿ’ผ, watching – literally – the minutes on the clock โฐ tick by. I would look at Ryan and feel overwhelming love and fear in equal parts. Days passed by in a fog of exhaustion ๐Ÿ’ค 

Motherhood is suddenly and permanently life changing. I am so grateful to have had the supportive company & listening ears of good friends back in the early days after Ryan was born so that I never felt alone, even if I often felt hugely incompetent ๐Ÿ˜ณ

To all new moms, don’t retreat into your anxieties; always reach out to someone, because you’re not alone. And it does get better! โค๏ธ๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿผ

#themomlife #thestruggleisreal #hormonesareabiyatch #soissleepdeprivation #worldsuicidepreventionday

